That NEW Adage

A pressure-relief valve about God, and just about everything else.

Kid Slaps Mother. When is the Funeral?


Okay, by now, you’ve probably either seen or heard of this… This kid slaps his MOTHER!!!

The first thing I did when I saw this was blame the mother — that’s right, the mother — for creating an environment where her kid THOUGHT that he could slap Mommy and survive. I could rant on all night about this, but perhaps I won’t…

This is another problem with the Oprahfication of America. We have to tell ourselves that the best way to raise children (whose brains don’t even function fully properly until well past puberty) is to REASON with them!! Adults reason. And even then, not always successfully!

This mother is being all nice and calm while the offspring of her body is flying apart.

I’ll tell you what — if any of my children (or anybody else’s) swing at me on camera, I’ll erase them and start drawing new ones!

There’s an analogy I heard a long time ago that I apply in rearing my kids: A man was at the circus and noticed that the elephants  — full-grown behemoths — were chained to wooden stakes that were hammered into the dirt. They could have easily pulled them up, but the slightest tension made them give in and stay put.

The visitor asked their trainer how this was possible.

“Simple,” he replied. “When the elephants are babies, we chain them to stakes that are embedded in the ground too deep for them to pull up. By the time they are strong enough, their memory of not being able to pull them up supersedes their knowledge of their abilities.”

One day my sons will be bigger and stronger than I. So I have to be invincible in their eyes in order that they don’t try me. There has to be fear until there is respect.

I thought my father would literally beat me to death if I challenged him. I thought he was crazy. (he was.) When I grew up and mentioned that to him, he laughed and told me that that was exactly the objective. I had to think that if I exceeded his boundaries, the price to pay would be final. That kept me away from drugs, theft, cutting classes, sneaking the car keys, drinking, sex… All the egregious sins, until my sense of not wanting to disappoint my parents was all I needed to basically keep me in line.

They reasoned with me only to the point that I was able to understand. I was not allowed to ask them where they were going when they left the house, or why I had to eat certain detestable foods, or “why” anything else they chose to have me do. I was allowed to voice my concerns and speak my mind, though, within certain limits.

I could not interrupt them when in conversation, and I could not join in adult tete a’ tetes. But they engaged me and respected my personhood — within limits.

Kids have a place. That is a dead notion, I know, but it is alive in my household, and never will a child of mine even bring to mind the idea of hitting ME! And my WIFE is the crazy one!!

There are worse things in the world than a butt-whupping, and this kid is going to experience a lot of them.

Raise your kids, folks! They are not born grown, and you do a disservice to them to treat them as though they are. Would you fly in a plane piloted by a person who only watched instructional films to learn how? Why, then, do you let Oprah tell you how to bring up children?

You watched that video and got mad at the boy. Well, I submit that he is only a product of his environment, and is functioning as designed.

April 13, 2010 - Posted by | Children, Christian Life, Christianity, Discipline, Kids, Oprah, Oprah Winfrey, Parenthood, Parenting, Spanking

7 Comments »

  1. I have a pair of very good friends who are the parents of 2 lovely boys, aged 6 and 10. There is a huge age disparity between the parents – the father is older than me, and the wife is 30 years younger. They are very loving, but indulgent parents. The boys are bright, loving and often (in my opinion) very rude and obnoxious. They spend a lot of time at my house for a variety of reasons. Before I had the eldest boy here (when he was still a tiny baby) I agreed with my friends that in my house the children would have to follow my rules. When they are in my house, they are very good boys! They know that if they misbehave or are rude, they have to sit in a room alone for a few mintues – which they hate. Here’s the surprise: they love coming here. They beg to come here.

    Comment by dressingmyself | April 13, 2010 | Reply

    • Children, like any of us, push who they know they can. Yep.

      Comment by maxdaddy | April 13, 2010 | Reply

  2. Hey Brother!

    I was about 8 years old when I wise cracked my mama and my pops gave me a crack and told me if I ever disrespected HIS wife again he was going to take me out…..and I never mouthed off to either of them again!

    Phil

    Phil, I hear ya, man! I never even had the courage to… *shuddering at the thought*

    Comment by Phil Naessens | April 13, 2010 | Reply

  3. I remember that video. I was just so…shocked. I was like “Wow, she didn’t do anything…”

    I think that’s the main thing, though. You HAVE to set the boundaries from the beginning! And don’t try to be your children’s “friend”…that never turns out good. I’ve seen it turn into wild teens.

    I hate it sometimes when it looks like it’s ALWAYS the parents fault, as well.

    Hey, Erin. I know people would have been shocked and outraged, but had she knocked him out of his chair, I would have applauded.
    I hate what this fake niceness and political correctness has done to us! We’re so touchy-feely and “sensitive” while the society is hurtling towards oblivion! If that approach WORKED, we would be getting better, not worse!
    The overwhelming majority of us are not fragile. Kids are stronger than we think. A stern word, a “NO” every once in a while, and a good butt whupping will not destroy them!!!
    The Bible teaches all of this, but we prefer to feminize Jesus and pick and choose from His teachings, making the Word look soft and unapplicable!
    I’M SICK OF IT ALL!

    Comment by edotrich | April 13, 2010 | Reply

    • ” I would have applauded.”

      You and me both, brother! If I’d ever lifted a hand to my mother, I’m rather certain that I’d wake up in the hospital a couple days later.

      Comment by wken | April 14, 2010 | Reply

  4. This is the first time I’ve ever seen that …

    I’m with you on this. The fault is easily placed with the parents who aren’t doing their job. Long before he slapped her, he was yelling, sticking his finger in her face, etc..

    I called my mother “ma’am.” I remember what happened one time she told me something and I snapped back, “I know that!”

    There’s a reason I remember it. It wasn’t pleasant. It was well-deserved, though, and I believe that I’m a better person for it.

    Children do have their place. They aren’t grown-ups. And they never will be if we let them get stuck in the terrible twos forever.

    Comment by wken | April 13, 2010 | Reply

  5. I smarted off to my mama once. Get that? ONCE! I remember what a wise pastor said, “Discipline will either start in the high chair or the electric chair. The choice is the parents.”

    Amen!

    There are plenty of bebe kids out there, but 9 times out of 10, check the environment. Kids aren’t born the spawn of Satan; it’s a learned trait.

    You said it, man!! We’re born with a sin nature — we LEARN a brat nature!!

    Comment by hiscrivener | April 13, 2010 | Reply


Leave a comment