That NEW Adage

A pressure-relief valve about God, and just about everything else.

“UNCLE!!!” he cried.


World, you did not win me to your way. You only bullied me into inevitable “clandestiny”  and code-speak. (coined that myself…) A Pyrrhic victory, to be sure, for what you will inherit will be wretched and uninhabitable.

I remember when, “Frankly, my dear, I don’t GIVE a damn,” was shocking. Now, with each new television season, a new word I can’t say is blasted in 5.1 audio. You win.

I remember when people would cringe even at the hint of two guys feeling an attraction to each other. Now, if I suggest that it is natural to tell my son that boys kiss girls, I am preaching hate! You win.

There was a time when morality was the default position and anything else was in need of correction. Now, “What happens in Vegas stays in Vegas” is not only a local mantra but a universal code by which to live. I give. Uncle. You can have your world. For now. But whatever standard you hold, whatever boundary YOU set, will be moved next. Go ahead — “You kissed a girl, and you liked it.” Throw your marriage away. Get high with your kid. Preach weak and watered-down Gospel for profit. Say f*&< on TV.

The God in whom you feign belief is real. And coming.

 

December 29, 2010 - Posted by | Christ, Christianity, False Prophets, Gay Rights, Homosexuality, Immorality

4 Comments »

  1. Well said. I can’t believe the way things are right now.

    I remember when someone would utter any profanity in public, would look embarrassed, and kind of apologize around. Or at least acknowledge it.

    A couple months ago, two teenagers were in a checkout lane dropping F-bombs 3-4 per sentence, and got mad at the cashier who asked them to tone it down.

    And, yes, the language in TV has helped reinforce my idea that we don’t need cable in my house.

    Good to hear from you again! I hope you had a great Christmas and have a blessed new year!

    Comment by wken | December 29, 2010 | Reply

    • Hey, Wickle! It’s a wretched world — I guess every generation says that at some point… On that note, Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!!

      Comment by maxdaddy | December 31, 2010 | Reply

  2. It`s good to hear from you again, and I could not agree with you more. The whole world , it seems, is upside down to me. Sometimes I think to myself, If it were not for my wife and kids I would ask God to take me. You can only imagine the frustration I feel while trying to instill morals and values in my kids, only to have society demonstrate and proclaim the complete opposite. May God continue to bless you and your family

    Comment by Tarre Stanley | January 4, 2011 | Reply

  3. Hi,

    I’m in complete agreement with you Brother!!!

    Phil

    Comment by Phil Naessens | January 11, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

