That NEW Adage

A pressure-relief valve about God, and just about everything else.

Limbaugh — a Drug Dealer for Bigots.


Will somebody let me know in what way Rush Limbaugh is funny? (the NAME is funny…) I don’t get it. I don’t see the humor. “Barack the Magic Negro” was a piece of 1935, Amos an’ Andy, Steppin Fetchit, racist drivel. I don’t see where he is anything more than an opinionated “other hater.”

And how arrogant do you have to be to think that the President of the doggone United States should condescend to debate you?!? Take a pill and calm down! Oops! These types spent eight years roasting people for “wanting the President to fail,” and they turn around and do the exact same thing! Politics is a game, and we all are just pawns on the board.

He is powerful, though! I’ve not seen so much conservative obsequious genuflecting since the days of Walter Winchell, Hedda Hopper, and McCarthy! (I like old movies and stuff) Now THAT is funny!

March 5, 2009 - Posted by | Obama, Politics, Rush Limbaugh

13 Comments »

  1. The man is the best advert to vote Democrat there’s ever been.
    Limbaugh is a disaster for Conservative America.

    Comment by futiledemocracy | March 5, 2009 | Reply

  2. You must not listen to the show. “Barack the Magic Negro” was written by a liberal columnist. If I’m not mistaken this liberal was questioning Mr. Obama’s “blackness” Mr. Limbaugh was simply poking fun at the left’s own bigotry.

    Comment by Silence Nogood | March 5, 2009 | Reply

  3. […] Limbaugh — a Drug Dealer for Bigots. « That NEW Adage […]

    Pingback by Limbaugh — a Drug Dealer for Bigots. « That NEW Adage | March 5, 2009 | Reply

  4. Silence Nogood is right. Rush was pointing out the left’s hypocrisy but that didn’t stop him from taking a slice of the hate pie for himself. It’s like helping a woman whose fallen but peeking down her blouse in the process. Rush also had a good time with the “Halfrican American” moniker (http://mediamatters.org/items/200701240010). He’s a hatemonger and there’s no justifying it.

    Comment by Rick T | March 5, 2009 | Reply

  5. Thanks, Rick. You said it for me.

    Comment by maxdaddy | March 6, 2009 | Reply

  6. Silence,

    I do listen to his putrid show frequently. I put in easily 10 hours this week listening to his ravings for one simple reason … so that people like you can’t use the “You don’t listen” excuse back when I call Limbaugh on what he does.

    Yes, a liberal (TM) used the phrase in the first place. That doesn’t open it up for everyone to use without accountability. I know the excuse, but I don’t buy it. He found a way to excuse his “Negro” joke like the coward he is.

    Derrick,

    I’d like to know how the thrice-divorced drug-abuser who spouts lewd jokes all the time came to be the voice of formerly-family-values-oriented conservatism, and why Christians listen to him.

    But that’s a post for my own blog, I suppose.

    Comment by wickle | March 6, 2009 | Reply

  7. You know what, Wickle? It was not TEN minutes ago that I was wondering that EXACT same thing!

    Again, this is not a rant against conservatives. I have just as many issues with liberals — I’m going to put up some stuff I heard Chris Matthews say last night when I get some time — but the attitude, demeanor, and style of people like Limbaugh, Coulter, and Hannity is antithetical to a Christian worldview, and Christians are not on firm ground when following them.

    I mean, I like Richard Pryor and Charlie Parker, but I compartmentalize that affinity.

    Thanks, man!

    Comment by maxdaddy | March 6, 2009 | Reply

  8. As a white middle class man I must respond to this.

    I’m disgusted and angry at the fact that many people listen to his show and defend him as “just being funny” or “for entertainment”. In my opinion, which is often not humble :), Rush is the Howard Stern of conservative politics. He’s a farce of conservatism and epitomizes everything I disdain about people who stand on their milk crate and tout their faith in their golden churches on Sunday’s while puking hate and greed the remainder of the time.

    Rush is a clear example of the people who are the problem in our country and not the solution. He just happens to have similar views with conservative voters and therefore gets a pass in their eyes, just like Stern and others get a pass with liberals. If I remember correctly Matthew reminds us to look at the wooden beam in our eye!

    Sorry for being so sarcastic here but Rush is a sickening excuse for a human and I pray that God would infect him with love, though I don’t think he can hear anything.

    Derrick, preach on my friend. Down with ALL media. They all have nothing but ratings and money in their minds and hearts. I can’t wait for the headline “Join us at 6 when we show you shocking results that the iphone causes cancer.” (off topic but darn funny you must admit.)

    later.

    Comment by Bob | March 6, 2009 | Reply

  9. […] Maxdaddy was talking about the “Barack the Magic Negro” controversy (in the comments there, I used the word “putrid” rather appropriately, I think). […]

    Pingback by Okay, fine … I’ll talk about Limbaugh « A True Believer’s Blog | March 7, 2009 | Reply

  10. Hey, bob! How’ve you been?
    Yeah, I would hope that his is not the standard of conservatism. But listening to him — and Hannity, and Mike Fleming, and Andrew Clarksenior — and others would leave one thinking so.

    It CAN be said that there are just as obnoxious liberal voices (Randi Rhodes?), too, especially when Christian subjects arise. That is why we have to keep the Christian message divorced from all of it. So that we are not beholden.

    GREAT Howard Stern analogy, by the way!!

    Comment by maxdaddy | March 7, 2009 | Reply

  11. What is most frustrating is that people will talk badly about the political opposite, but defend the same illicit tactics used by the one they agree with. I have a family member who defends Rush b/c the views he advocates line up with my relatives, so therefore he must be a good man….right? It is soo frustrating b/c he turns around and attacks liberal media and politicians. It’s soo contradictory.

    I agree that there are obnoxious voices on both sides. However, of late, big mouthed ignorant people like Rush cause greater harm to Christians, than those attacking Christianity. Will Durant said that “a civilization isn’t conquered from without until it is conquered from within.” You and I know that the Kingdom of God is safe and unimpaired long term by all this junk. But what about the Christian community in the US, or the world? We are allowing hypocrisy to destroy us from within. There is a great book called “UnChristian” on a study done about what non-Christians think of Christians. It’s eye-opening. If you haven’t read it I have a copy that once is returned to me I can get to you through Kevin.

    At any rate. I am well. I hope you are too.

    later man.

    Comment by Bob | March 18, 2009 | Reply

  12. Thanks, Bob. I’m doing well. A little professionally frustrated at the moment, but motivated.

    I agree with what you’ve said. Hypocrisy is my main problem with American mainstream Christianity! It’s hard to feel a part of a Segregated Body.
    Some of you out there know EXACTLY what I’m speaking of!

    Comment by maxdaddy | March 19, 2009 | Reply

  13. I agree. I just posted on Rush’s song. it is at http://soozah.wordpress.com/ in case you are interested.

    Comment by Federal Farmer | October 12, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

