That NEW Adage

A pressure-relief valve about God, and just about everything else.

I built it — where ARE they?


I haven’t stopped writing. I am just busy. And a little frustrated.

I’m raising two kids, trying to start a band — this blog got me (thankfully) fired from the other one — learning what it takes to master my horn (thanks, Kirk!), and trying to be fully worthy of the gifts I’ve been given. I’m playing in a jazz band that works once a month but takes a lot of my time, I just finished a demo, and I’m attempting to be worthy of the great wife I have who lets me do all I have to do to get what I need out of life.

I am frustrated because most of the people who used to visit my little hole here in cyber-space have stopped coming by after the first week in November. Hmmm. But I have not changed… My moral stances are just as conservative as they always were. And my views on those with less-than are just as NOT conservative. I am just as biblically conservative as I ever have been, and my opinions on Christian fellowship among ALL Christians are just as liberal, if you will. Yet, for some reason, I don’t have the company I used to have.

I don’t have but two or three friends — despite what facebook says — and I don’t see them much. Life gets in the way. I am not a social butterfly like my wife. I don’t get asked to hang out a lot. So this blog, in addition to being a journal of sorts, and a way to hone writing skills, is a way for an extreme introvert like me to interact in a non-intimidating fashion with people of like and UNlike mind.

But after the abomination, I don’t get a lot of visitors. The weather must not be as fair as it was on the third of November.

I still have a lot to say, and I will say it. I love writing this blog!  However, I also have a lot of things to get done, and I want to do proper justice to them all. Thank you who do for continuing to share your valuable time here with me. Please continue to do so.

February 20, 2009 - Posted by | Christianity, Conservatives, Elections, False Teachers, Frustration, God, Liberals, Life, Obama, Words, Writing

13 Comments »

  1. […] That NEW Adage created an interesting post today on I built it â […]

    Pingback by Topics about Christian life and Bible readings » Archive » I built it — where ARE they? | February 20, 2009 | Reply

  2. That’s the risk about transparency. I am glad you are honest on your writing and you are willing to share.

    Keep the good stuff coming.

    Saludos,

    Rafael

    Thanks, my friend!

    Comment by Rafa | February 20, 2009 | Reply

  3. Hi Derrick,

    The words you write bleed on the page. A lot of raw emotion. I went and read some of the other stuff you wrote. You pack a punch.

    In Christ,

    Mark

    I appreciate that, Mark.

    Comment by markpenrith | February 20, 2009 | Reply

  4. Am I in that two or three? Don’t answer that! 😉

    I’m still here D!

    I was in hyperbole mode, Heather! You know you are just as much friends of mine as I am of you guys!

    Comment by heatherltrotter | February 20, 2009 | Reply

  5. Wow…just, wow…keep writing bruh!

    Will do, man.

    Comment by Rick T | February 20, 2009 | Reply

  6. I’m still here. Sorry if I haven’t been commenting as much lately. But I’m reading, and loving every minute of it.

    Hey, man, you know I wasn’t speaking about you!! And, really, people can do as they please. This is not about obligating anyone to read my stuff. It is more about being able to agree in Christ and to DISagree in Christ and to still be of the same body.

    It would be so arrogant of me to feel entitled to an audience! And I know that with us being in a near-depression, people have way more pressing issues to face. But the dropoff was so sudden and so drastic, that it was more than just that.
    You’re my brother, man!

    Comment by wickle | February 20, 2009 | Reply

  7. Please, you will never run me off because I just love reading your blog so much. I am a pathological lurker, though…so I always read more than I post.

    Comment by Erin | February 20, 2009 | Reply

  8. I’ve got you on my bloglines subscription list, so you know I read your new stuff when it comes out! We love you, Derrick and hope you don’t get discouraged. Keep on writing and playing!

    Thanks, Lisa!! Naww, I’m not gonna stop. I CAN’T stop. I love you guys, too. And I just got the disk, and the shots are all great!! I can’t take it! They’re just what I need.

    Comment by kiralisa | February 20, 2009 | Reply

  9. Derrick,

    I feel bad. It has been a while since I’ve visited but I still dig your blog Bro. I love your transparency and I can really relate with your comment about having just a few true friends. – Jeff

    Comment by Jeff S. | February 22, 2009 | Reply

  10. Hey, Jeff! Don’t feel bad! That’s not the intent. Besides, I know people have a lot of stuff going on.
    Thanks, man!

    Comment by maxdaddy | February 23, 2009 | Reply

  11. Bo, you say you only have 2 or 3 friends, that’s not true. You have many more than you realize. Maybe a few CLOSE CLOSE ones but you have lots of friends and you don’t have to be a social butterfly to show you who your friends are. In writing this, I think back to what Bryan said yesterday about relationships and transactional relationships with people. As long as you are a friend to others, you will have more friends than you realize. I can only be the example that our parents taught us, be friendly to everyone but wise in my choices of who I choose as friends.

    Comment by Cassandra | February 23, 2009 | Reply

  12. Thanks, sister!

    Comment by maxdaddy | February 26, 2009 | Reply

  13. Derrick, I’m still reading. I’m not online as much as I used to be. I’m a little more than halfway through my third pregnancy and it is really hard this time. Anyway, I’m still here. I’m not blogging for now, but still here in the shadows. Keep the faith. Be encouraged, brother.

    HEY, SARA!!! Congratulations! I didn’t know you were pregnant! I’ll pray for you.
    Thanks for continuing to read. I’m still in there, swinging!

    Comment by sara | February 26, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

