That NEW Adage

A pressure-relief valve about God, and just about everything else.

45 Years and Counting…


Happy Anniversary, guys! Thank you for sticking it out when so many don’t. When marriage is seen as something to do, or not do, you have persevered.

Thank you for thinking enough of us to insulate us and to give us two parents who think more of us than of periodic pain. Thank you for being mature and true to your vows to God.

My kids will know that love is more than hugging and kissing — that love is staying and working — and hugging and kissing. They will know because I know because YOU knew. Your children love you, and their children love you.

 

23 Dec 63

23 Dec 63

 about-twelve-years-in

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

seventies

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ma-and-aunt-odessa

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

her-favorite-picture

seventh-grade-easter

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

coarch

 

ma-and-john-ford5e5e

 

ma-at-patterson5e

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

family-portrait

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And Now...

And Now...

December 25, 2008 - Posted by | Anniversary, Children, Christian Life, Fatherhood, Life, Life Lessons, Marriage, Motherhood, Parenthood, Parenting

7 Comments »

  1. Thanks for sharing these pictures. You have incredible parents! They are as beautiful a couple today as they were 45 years ago! Maybe more so because they have weathered the trails of life and still shine. I hope I can continue to take notes from them and follow suit as best I can!

    Comment by ricktrotter | December 26, 2008 | Reply

  2. Thanks Rick!
    Yeah, I always thought I had the prettiest mom and the biggest, baddest pop in the neighborhood. I was always proud to be seen with them no matter what age I was.

    They teach me so much!

    Comment by maxdaddy | December 26, 2008 | Reply

  3. Sheesh, Derrick! You look JUST like your mom! Thanks for the pics! What a legacy you have! You’ve been given much, and much is required of you. Stay true and keep keepin’ it real! I will keep you and your family in my prayers.

    You’re an encouragement, a godly example (there still are some men in the world, who take their marriage vows seriously), and a light in a dark world.

    Shine on. Shine on.

    Yeah. I get that a LOT. I always wondered how she could be so beautiful, and I could get called ugly so much growing up if we looked so much alike.

    I am so blessed to have the family I have. Such honorable and upright, smart and hardworking people. They have never shamed me. And I can never live up to their example.

    I look at these pictures with mixed feelings… I know the yesterdays are gone, and the tomorrows are fewer. It’s hard, and I just keep asking the Lord for more time — for them to see my kids grow up and have grandparents they love so much like I DIDN’T have.

    Thanks a lot for the words, the encouragement, and the friendship.

    Comment by anappygirl | December 27, 2008 | Reply

  4. This is beautiful! I love to see families that are still “tight”! Reminds me of my family. ❤

    Just like anappygirl stated, it is very refreshing to see that there are still men out there who take marriage and the family unit seriously. I was losing hope…

    But what a beautiful post!

    Comment by Erin | December 30, 2008 | Reply

  5. Thanks, Erin!

    Even if I DIDN’T love my wife so much, I am too scared of God to cheat on her! And the last thing I’d want to live through is watching my kids grow up in a different household from me.

    My kids make me want to keep on livin’! I have to raise them! We grown folk can make it ourselves, but little babies need mothers AND fathers.

    Comment by maxdaddy | December 31, 2008 | Reply

  6. I haven’t been by in a while but, you have a beautiful family. Happy New Year to your family!

    Comment by jjbrock | January 11, 2009 | Reply

  7. […] to get wiser and more methodical as his years accumulate. I love to sit and listen to my friend Derrick’s dad because he drops nuggets of wisdom like F-bombs in a Tarantino flick. Even the most trivial subject […]

    Pingback by Etta James: Settling for the Gold « Rick Trotter’s Blog | February 5, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

