That NEW Adage

A pressure-relief valve about God, and just about everything else.

Got a Brand New Funky PRESIDENT!*


Here we are. The world has not cracked in two. The stars have not refused to shine. Life is as it was. But…

NOW, as I shake off a headache from so much unexpected, hard crying, I feel that after two hundred and thirty two years the final missing piece has been found and placed into this American puzzle.

The long cracked foundation has been sealed. A black face is the face of America!

I had never felt fully part of the American family until now. I had always looked at history from the perspective of a mistreated child. I had always wondered how the words of that founding father, Patrick Henry:

         [ “It is in vain, sir, to extentuate the matter. Gentlemen may cry, Peace, Peace–but there is no peace. The war is actually begun! The next gale that sweeps from the north will bring to our ears the clash of resounding arms! Our brethren are already in the field! Why stand we here idle? What is it that gentlemen wish? What would they have? Is life so dear, or peace so sweet, as to be purchased at the price of chains and slavery? Forbid it, Almighty God! I know not what course others may take; but as for me, give me liberty or give me death!” ]

could be so hypocritically immortalized in light of the fact that these very men themselves owned human beings! I could never fully reconcile the brutal irony.

Tonight, though, it has been made manifest that no more American doors are locked to me and mine. As I held my son as he held me and asked what was wrong, I told him that I was happy. Happy that now for him greatness not only included intellectual achievement or financial success, but also the highest office in the most powerful nation on the earth.

I was happy that now his maternal great-grandmother, who fought the Klan for the right to vote, and who hid freedom riders in her home on “Number 8” in Jim Crow Mississippi, had not fought in vain. I was happy that his paternal great-grandfather, who genuflected and called eight year-old white boys, “sir,” and lived a life of menial servitude while raising seventeen kids to honorable adulthood, had finally won.

I was happy to know that the last time black people collectively cried this hard was when, forty years ago, a bullet burst open the face of the face of the search for equality, and that now his sowing bore African fruit.

African! An African name! After so many African names went unremembered and changed. An African man who came to America not in bondage to anything but hope. The way it should have been. The way it is. An African man willingly cleaved in a Godly manner to the hand of a white American woman and produced a descendant not steeped in the brew of oppression, and destined to caulk that fundamental crack. 

I did not know this would mean so much to me.

I care about the plight of the unborn, and about the tenuous religious freedoms we have. So, how can I be happy knowing that innocent babies will continue to die?

I can do so the same way I did it the last eight years when “immorality” and infanticide increased in the last eight years. I can do so by praying to God that He work through His body, the Church, to effect change in this culture a heart at a time.

Obama’s election does not for me signal the end of all hardship. His election does not mean that all problems will be Divinely washed away.

What it DOES is symbolize the fact that there is hope that in this country, with its keloid scars and twisted sinews, people of ALL races — primarily black and white — can grow past ingrained adversity and see each other as the same. But different!

We have loved and desired to be loved in return. We love those who love us. And those who don’t. We embrace the white guy who plays basketball like we do, or who dances like we do, or sings like we do, or swaggers like we do. All we wanted was to make it known that we are worthy of humanity, and the fact that so many NON-black people had to come together and lift this symbolic individual to the highest human height, means that we are getting it!

I remember when, in 1988, Doug Williams lead the Washington Redskins to the Superbowl championship.  was so proud to be black that day. His win meant that we could do it, whatever IT was. There have been a number of those moments, where door after door is knocked down, and this is the last one.

Some racists have said things like, “I’m scared if Obama wins, the BLACK gone take over!” I submit that this sentiment comes from those who know that they have not done right with the power they have had and are projecting their own unGodliness onto us.

Obama’s election does not mean that white folks have to stay out of the fast lanes on the highway, and give up their floor seats and fifty-yard-line spots in sporting events. We will not raid your country clubs with booming music, spinning rims, gold teeth, and chitlin’s. We have just been allowed an invitation to the American house party, and are glad to not have to any longer stare through the window.

So, rather than be defined by the thug image, the gang lifestyle, we have President Obama — cool, dignified, brilliant, clean-cut, erudite, straight, true to who he is, and in love with one dark-skinned, kinky-headed woman, and living in the same house with his kids.

50 Cent, you don’t define me! You never did, but I shake you off! P.Diddy, Pacman, T.O., O.J., Li’l Wayne and the whole Cash Money crew, Flava –Lord hammercy!- Flav! Snoop Dogg, American Gangster, drug dealer, dropout, deadbeat baby-daddy, you are not who I am. You never were, but you never will be.

Get off the stage! Put the mike down! Pick up a book!

My son will not emulate YOU. My daughter will not desire you!

‘Cause we got a brand new, funky, President!!* Gimme Five, America! On the Black hand side!

 

*James Brown

November 5, 2008 - Posted by | Abortion, Barack Obama, Black Life, Conservatives, Culture, Current Events, Democrats, Elections, John McCain, Obama, Politicians, Politics, Race, Racial Reconciliation, Racism, Religion, Republicans, Sarah Palin

10 Comments »

  1. […] Got a Brand New Funky PRESIDENT!* Here we are. The world has not cracked in two. The stars have not refused to shine. Life is as it was. But… NOW, as I shake off a headache from so much unexpected, hard crying, I feel that after two hundred and thirty two years the final missing piece has been found and placed into this American puzzle. The long cracked foundation has been sealed. A black face is the face of America! I had never felt fully part of the American family until now. I had always looked at history from the perspective […]

    Pingback by Democrats On Best Political Blogs » Blog Archive » Got a Brand New Funky PRESIDENT!* | November 5, 2008 | Reply

  2. I share in your spirit of hope. I’m proud that Our country can elect a man to the office of President regardless of black or white. I am hopeful that his presidency will bring much needed revision to Washington.

    I am frustrated however with those that think racism is now dead. Those that think the US has been saved. And mostly by those that continue to speak hatred in spite of the election being over.

    I share in your prayers for the future.

    bob

    Comment by bob | November 5, 2008 | Reply

  3. Thanx, Bob. I agree. Obama didn’t cure racism, and he will not cure all the ills of this nation. It does, however say a lot for how far we have come.

    Comment by maxdaddy | November 5, 2008 | Reply

  4. Note: I’m speaking to all, and no one in particular.

    I don’t know who thinks racism is…dead. But I know I don’t. That’s why when I hear white people try to cover up wrong attitudes with the played-out line, “I have black friends”, I smile.

    I had a white boyfriend, who thought I was “different from the average black person. Didn’t find out that little gem of info, till a few of months into our dating relationship. I “got in”, cuz I wasn’t “black”, as HE knew “black” to be. So, if you can be in a dating relationship with, or married to, a person of another race and think, “Well…they’re not like the REST of ’em”, then simply having a black friend at the water cooler (which is often the extent of the “friendship”) doesn’t automatically exempt you from being racist. It’s not that simple.

    Another thing: The republican response at McCain’s concession rally. Folks cryin’ and snottin’, like they would have rather had a one-eyed Yak in the White House, than Barack Obama. It was like God is…dead and was therefore MIA, during the election.

    It’s like…give the man SOME credit. He was (and is) much more together/polished, had together folks running his campaign, had the sense to pick a good running mate, changed course with funding (brilliant…AGAIN) and displayed class (like when he refused to bring Sarah Palin’s family situation into the political ring) among a display of class-lessness from the republicans, and many of their supporters. That counts for something, when you gotta run a country, finance it, and make friends of enemies.

    McCain tried to swing, but couldn’t hang. He deeply underestimated his opponent. As a man of war, he should have known better. He thought he’d blow a black man (yes, I said it) off the map. The republicans got big heads, and lost…big time. They didn’t realize the “fed up” point was so off the meter. Oh…and what have the republicans done for the cause of the unborn exactly? They use abortion as a hot button, all the time — but it didn’t work this time.

    It’s like “enough already”. McCain didn’t do it. So, get behind Barack, and help him do his job, instead of sulking/whining and promising to “give him the same hell he gave Bush” (a republican sore loser). Pray for him. Pray for America. Pray for yourself.

    If Barack had lost, I would have been disappointed — but I had already given this election to God from the very beginning, and the outcome to Him, as well. I had my wishes, but I didn’t demand that God honor them. I’m not praying any less, because Barack made it. I’m praying just the same, cuz we’re to pray for those who are in leadership positions.

    My heart is full, and heavy, at the same time. I don’t want him to mess up, cuz we’ll never hear the last of it. I gotta trust God with it all.

    Comment by anappygirl | November 5, 2008 | Reply

  5. I enjoyed reading your perspective of what the election of a black man meant to you. I fundamentally disagreed with Barak Obama…not because he is black but because I think he is wrong on many things. I would not have voted for him had he been white or polka dotted. But…I can see how symbolic and monumental this is for a goodly number of people. I do hope that he is able to take the reins and have history judge him to be a great President for if he suceeds, his success will be to everyone’s benefit. God bless America and God bless Barak Obama.

    Comment by Pam | November 5, 2008 | Reply

  6. Pam, I think that is absolutely the best way to look at it. After all, in most of these presidential elections, close to half the people will wind up being led by the person they did NOT choose. And as we are all on the SAME team, it is only Godly to pray for wise fair leadership.

    Thanks!

    Comment by maxdaddy | November 6, 2008 | Reply

  7. […] bookmarks tagged maternal Got a Brand New Funky PRESIDENT!* saved by 5 others     MonokoroBoo101 bookmarked on 11/06/08 | […]

    Pingback by Pages tagged "maternal" | November 6, 2008 | Reply

  8. I am in no way trying to claim that I fully understand what an event of this magnitude would mean to so many Americans (and I emphasize “AMERICANS”), but the emotions that swept over me Tuesday night were unique to me. All that I teach my students, all that I tell my kids, all that I have grieved over, and all that I have earnestly prayed for seems to be evolving before my eyes.

    Many of my students asked me the following day who I voted for. I told them that I am not ashamed to say that I voted for McCain for certain social (e.g. abortion) and economic (e.g. tax structure and health care reform) issues, though I was not disappointed. Rather, I was extremely excited about the significance of this election in U.S. and world history.

    I will, as always, support my country and my president. I will pray for he and his family. I will fight for him on issues upon which we agree. I will oppose him when I believe differently. I will respect him and give him the dignity that he and every American deserves. And, above all, I will pray for God’s guidance and wisdom for all of us.

    Let’s hope that “change is coming” not just in the official policies and laws that govern our society, but more importantly, in the hearts and minds of our people, and I emphasize “OUR PEOPLE!”

    Hey, Rob!
    That is fair. And good. Thanks, man!

    Comment by Rob | November 6, 2008 | Reply

  9. Great words my brother. I’m privileged to know you. I’m dealing with my own aftershock as I hear the various comments, mostly from white Evangelicals who have not had the opportunity to receive a broader vision of life than that passed down from the Religious Wrong. I have had to adjust my attitude, especially in light of how just about every people group on earth – maybe even angels – have seen this outcome as a godsend (I just returned from Japan Tuesday where there were so many who cheered Obama on for the sake of, you guessed it, NO MORE WARMONGERING IN THE NAME OF “COUNTRY FIRST”). I know that this is our opportunity for understanding, and that it will come at a price (yes, more paying) which is cool because nothing worth having is free.

    So I pray for more patience and more of a perspective on my own sinful perspective (office of redundancy) that I might be yet teachable, even as I celebrate! And I am gonna celebrate!

    Oh, and the resentful, uptight looks I got at the airports this morning for wearing my Obama shirt… I’m good with those too. The God I serve is a merciful God.

    You honor me, man!
    When I wrote this, I was still in the throes of the joy this election meant.
    But the very next day, I realized that some people were not as happy as I. Those who claim servitude to the same Savior that I do.

    Matter fact, check THIS out… I just thought about this this moment: when Jesus — BARACK IS NOT JESUS! — came in the flesh to save His people, those He claimed as His own “received Him not” because they superficially thought that He was supposed to deal with the particular SIGNIFICANT issues of their day. They missed the bigger picture. Jesus was concerned about the wanton slaughter the Romans inflicted on the Jews, but He had another item on His agenda that was higher on the list.

    I submit that IN A SMALLER way, some of my Christian brothers cannot see past their singular issues (and in some cases, their unresolved prejudices!) to the big picture of the entire, complete history of this country! If we ended the holocaust of abortion while leaving unfinished the work of rectifying the horrors of our history (that has taken many more lives, in my opinion), who knows how many more centuries we would go on dividing ourselves further and further?

    This election was an indication that hearts are changing, and changing hearts is exactly what is needed to end abortion and the other hot button occurrences that so occupy the minds of we evangelicals.

    Comment by KW | November 8, 2008 | Reply

  10. […] Got a Brand New Funky PRESIDENT!* Here we are. The world has not cracked in two. The stars have not refused to shine. Life is as it was. But… NOW, as I shake off a headache from so much unexpected, hard crying, I feel that after two hundred and thirty two years the final missing piece has been found and placed into this American puzzle. The long cracked foundation has been sealed. A black face is the face of America! I had never felt fully part of the American family until now. I had always looked at history from the perspective of a mistreated child. I had always wondered how the words of that founding father, Patrick Henry:          [ “It is in vain, sir, to extentuate the matter. Gentlemen may cry, Peace, Peace–but there is no peace. The war is actually begun! The next gale that sweeps from the north will bring to our ears the clash of resounding arms! Our brethren are already in the field! Why stand we here idle? What is it that gentlemen wish? What would they have? Is life so dear, or peace so sweet, as to be purchased at the price of chains and slavery? Forbid it, Almighty God! I know not what course others […] […]

    Pingback by Got a Brand New Funky PRESIDENT!* at Republicans On Best Political Blogs | November 8, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

