That NEW Adage

A pressure-relief valve about God, and just about everything else.

PROnunciation: Nunciating for money.


I was on the road this past weekend working with a different band, and my friend, Curtis, and I got into a conversation about how unsatisfied and unhappy I was in the group in which I normally play.

“I’m a disgruntled employee,” I said. I paused, “Hey, man, what’s up with that word? You ever thought about it? Every time somebody shoots up a post office, or a place of business, they are always called, ‘disgruntled’.” He laughed.

“I mean, have you ever heard somebody use the word, ‘gruntled‘? ‘I was disgruntled yesterday, but I got my check in the mail, an’ I’m pretty gruntled today!’ “ We both fell out laughing.

“Yeah,” Curtis said, “DIS- is a prefix, and you would think that the root word would stand alone. But I’ve never heard that word, ‘gruntled’ before. Man, you’re crazy! You think about some weird stuff!” Laughing.

“Naw, man, I’m serious! I been thinking about that for years! I think about that kind of stuff a lot. Like look at the word ‘unscathed’. When was the last time you heard about somebody being in a car wreck on the news, and the reporter said, ‘Yeah, the victim got scathed up pretty good. He was so scathed that he is in critical condition.’ And what is ‘critical condition’ anyway? Is that when you are hurt up so bad that you get two thumbs down? Or does it mean that the doctors all crowd around you and criticize you, like, ‘Wow! That’s terrible! Awful! Look at how his leg is bent! He shoulda known better than trying to ride that motorcycle drunk!’?”

We laughed non-stop for about five minutes.

I love words!

DISgruntled, UNscathed, DISpensed (Has anybody ever “pensed” you?)

What are some others?

October 2, 2008 - Posted by | Christian Life, Humor, Language, Life, Things That Make You Go Hmmm, Words, Work

7 Comments »

  1. Critics sometimes give a bad movie a “scathing” review. Are those movies then in “critical condition”? (rim shot)

    I know, I know … Kim always tells me I’m honing my corny grandpa joke skills.

    Comment by Dan | October 2, 2008 | Reply

  2. Hmmmm….I like “DIS-combobulated”.
    “Everything was SO confusing yesterday! I’m feeling very combobulated today!”

    Yay!

    Comment by anappygirl | October 2, 2008 | Reply

  3. Corny grandpas aren’t born, they are slowly and reluctantly developed.

    By the way, I’ve ingested and digested food before. If it comes back up did I obgest, ungest it or disgest it?

    Comment by ricktrotter | October 2, 2008 | Reply

  4. Thanks, Dan.
    Rick, I think you regurgested. But I jest.

    Comment by maxdaddy | October 2, 2008 | Reply

  5. that is too funny! Dan and I have had the same conversation about “disgruntled” and “gruntled”…still talk about it sometimes. We were “disgruntled” about some situations in our old church and we both kept saying, “I want to be gruntled!” I know, we’re nuts…

    Comment by Kim | October 2, 2008 | Reply

  6. Hey, Kim! Thanks!

    Tracie, for some reason, your comment got sent to the spam box. I got it. I mean, I COMBOBULATED it!

    Comment by maxdaddy | October 3, 2008 | Reply

  7. Everyone is always overwhelmed. I’m waiting for the day that I am just whelmed or even underwhelmed!

    Comment by Heather | October 3, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

