That NEW Adage

A pressure-relief valve about God, and just about everything else.

Kathy and I were talking:


As we were watching the RNC on teevee,

“McCain’s mom sure looks good to be as old as they say she is,” I said, when they put the camera on her.

“Yeah,” Kathy responded.

“They call HIM old, but if HE  was on the Mayflower, SHE  was on the Ark!”

“Naw,” Kathy replied, “She was back there wit Eve!”

“Shoooot!” I said, “She IS Eve! That’s why his name is McCAIN!”

 

 

Sorry, y’all… Christians can laugh, too, right?

Oh, yeah… and Palin looks like Tina Fey.

September 4, 2008 - Posted by | Conservatives, Elections, Humor, John McCain, McCain, Politicians, Politics, Republican Convention, Republicans, RNC | ,

9 Comments »

  1. LOL, you two are a riot! DH snored through most of it.

    And she DOES look like Tina Fey!

    Comment by sara | September 4, 2008 | Reply

  2. hahahahahahahahaha!

    Comment by heatherltrotter | September 4, 2008 | Reply

  3. The hardcore partisanship made me throw up in my mouth a little. I’m surprised I heard her speech at all after Giuliani prompted me to change the channel with each school yard tactic. I am not party affiliated but if I were a republican last night I would be very ashamed this morning. Very condescending.

    Comment by Rick T | September 4, 2008 | Reply

  4. Hey Rick,

    Really? ‘cuz I wasn’t a republican until this week and I am not ashamed. 🙂

    It’s true enough that Giuliani is an abrasive man seemingly motivated purely by political ambition, and is a poor public speaker. He did some good things while he was mayor of NYC (though his approval rating was not great just prior to 9/11/2001): he prettied up some places, reduced crime, made the xxx stores move out of Time Square (and into places where the tourists couldn’t see them). Of course all his history, good and bad, is forgotten in the light of the fact that the city was blown up while he was on duty – somehow that makes him a hero. To his credit, he did tell New Yorkers to walk north on that day when we all wanted to get off the island. And he did get rid of the comb-over, so that’s good.

    There is pretty much only one reason why I am even bothering to vote at all this year and that is in the hope that Sarah Palin’s pro-life stance will have some kind of influence on McCain.

    I have little faith in the morals or abilities of any of the candidates. But I serve a sovereign God and it’s in His hand. Whatever the outcome, I am called to respect and obey my earthly rulers, so with God’s help, I’ll try to do that.

    Comment by sara | September 4, 2008 | Reply

  5. Giuliani’s not really a republican anyway. Democrat, Independent, Republican, he’s done it all. To be fair, they all look pretty much the same to me too.

    Comment by sara | September 4, 2008 | Reply

  6. Maybe it is just me but itsn’t it fair play that the RNC clealy attacked the attacks coming from the DNC? Barack Obama has been attacking the RNC candidates all along, and other DNC people have long been attacking them.

    I think that Giuliani was a bit tough and his comments were cloaked in sarcasim, but he is from New York what did you expect?

    Comment by Bob Nicholas | September 5, 2008 | Reply

  7. Oh, and I should note that I’m not R nor D but after the RNC I’m definelty supporting McCain and Palin. Both impressed me with their speaches and both have my confidence when compared to the Obama/Biden.

    Comment by Bob Nicholas | September 5, 2008 | Reply

  8. This was sooooooo funny. You two are a trip. Giuliani is a frustrated prezadentwannabhata.

    Comment by Kevin Hyman | September 7, 2008 | Reply

  9. Hey, Bob. Sorry it took me so long to reply.

    I may be speaking through bias (I don’t think so), but it seems to me that the GOP have been far more negative and misleading.
    McCain pledged that he would not go negative, and he has been doing nothing but that since the beginning.

    Obama has said things he shouldn’t have (bitter…), but McCain and his surrogates have consistently misrepresented Obama’s positions (lipstick, sex ed for kindergarteners), and McCain has been far more snide and condescending than I remember him being in the past.

    Even Republican pundits have said that Obama needs to fight back more.
    Every time he says ANYthing about Palin (“she was the mayor of a small town…”) they have cried SEXISM! How was THAT sexist?!?

    When have Republicans EVER cared about sexism? I have never even heard them use the word till now.

    They seem to be calculating. Win at all cost. They seem to pander to Christians while using UN-Christian methods.

    The Democrats do stuff, too, but it is mostly left-wing bloggers who do the worst of their stuff. I don’t count them.

    When I watched the DNC, I didn’t get all the aggressiveness and exclusivism I saw with the RNC. And they didn’t seem to be so much “attacking” as using that time to respond to a lot of what had been said of Obama and Michelle (“proud of my country for the first time.” They CLEARLY distorted what she said and meant.)

    The Republican Party is touted as the Party of “middle America.” That seems to mean “White America.” Their Convention seemed to bolster that view. They were way more mean, and they didn’t talk about issues — other than oil.

    I heard about McCain’s POW story about seven different times.

    See Ya!

    Comment by maxdaddy | September 11, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

