That NEW Adage

A pressure-relief valve about God, and just about everything else.

Gas Pumps Give me Gas


In the interest of making sure that my stuff gets read — the long posts seem to get overlooked lately — I’ll keep this one short…

87       93         89

89       93         87

89       87         93

Does anyone notice how, when pumping gas, the stations list the octane levels in NON-sequential order?

Maybe I’m cynical, but I don’t think so. They do it so that unsuspecting drivers mistakenly get the 89 or 93 octane fuel by mistake. I’m sure of it.

It’s not enough that the lowest octane costs more than a movie ticket! They have to gouge out enough for the popcorn, too! “Gitcho hand out my POCKET!”

More “crooked preacher” stuff to come.

August 26, 2008 - Posted by | Cars, Driving, Fuel, Gas Prices, Life, Oil, Oil Companies, Pet Peeves, Rant |

5 Comments »

  1. I could swear you must live in the crookedest place in America – I’ve never seen that done here.

    Comment by sara | August 26, 2008 | Reply

  2. That made me laugh!
    Yeah, this may be a crooked town, but human nature is consistent.
    I have seen it done in other places.

    Comment by maxdaddy | August 26, 2008 | Reply

  3. I was thinking that about human nature. I wonder if I should be worried that people here are just sneakier.

    Comment by sara | August 26, 2008 | Reply

  4. I am sure, Sara, that they are doing SOMEthing! I have seen reports that there may not even be the right high octane gas in the pump. There’s no way for us to tell.

    At any rate, that little bitty tiny .9 at the end of the per gallon price is deceitful! And EVERYone does that.

    Comment by maxdaddy | August 27, 2008 | Reply

  5. Anything for the money, but we are the victims…
    Rental car places are the same way:
    http://qualitytw.blogspot.com/2008/08/watch-out-for-rental-car-gas-price.html

    Comment by Todd | September 2, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

