That NEW Adage

A pressure-relief valve about God, and just about everything else.

Why Ya Think They Call ‘Em “Happy Meals?”


Max bows his head sorrowfully, as if about to pray, “Daddy?” soft as a whisper.
“What?!” I answer, sharply.
“Paw Paw… Richie-Ryan… Chic-kan nug-gets,” referring to my father and two young nephews and a food he likes.
I cover my face so he can’t see me smile.
 
Okay, imagine John Edwards saying to his wife: “Hey, Honey, did you lose weight or do something to your hair? You look GREAT!!”


Or Senator Craig saying to the arresting officer: “Wow, they sure keep these airport bathrooms spotless!”

 

Max, two years old now, has just gotten caught doing one of his list of a thousand daily things he knows not to do, and is trying to soften up the wrath.
“Paw Paw… Richie-Ryan… Chic-kan nug-gets.” I hear it twenty times a day.
But what can ya do?
 

August 14, 2008 - Posted by | Boys, Children, Christian Life, Discipline, Fatherhood, Fathers and Sons, Home Life, Humor, John Edwards, Kids, Larry Craig, Life, Max, Parenthood, Parenting

6 Comments »

  1. First of all, that picture is gorgeous. He is such a cute, smiley boy. My younger one has a smile like that.

    My older one butters me up with, “You wook wike a pwincess. Youh boodafoo.” This is often said just as AFTER I’ve given him permission to do something he really wants to do so it’s not too bad…

    Oh, and I think Kathy needs a blog. I bet she’s got a lot to say about life with Derrick. 🙂

    Comment by sara | August 14, 2008 | Reply

  2. Oh my what a cutie. Thanks for sharing.

    Comment by dunn254 | August 14, 2008 | Reply

  3. Oh the mind of a child…PRICELESS!

    Comment by Heather | August 14, 2008 | Reply

  4. I agree…Kathy does need a blog!

    Comment by Heather | August 14, 2008 | Reply

  5. Thanx, all of y’all!
    Kathy would never have a blog. She makes ME do all tha rytin’ in tha famm’ly.

    Comment by maxdaddy | August 14, 2008 | Reply

  6. Youtube!!!!!!!!

    Comment by Kevin Hyman | September 7, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

