That NEW Adage

A pressure-relief valve about God, and just about everything else.

Home Trainin’


“Hey, Max!”

“What, Daddy?” Smiling.

“Max, don’t say ‘what’ when I call you, okay? Say, ‘Yes, Daddy?’.”

“Okay, Daddy.”

He walks away. Five seconds later…

“Hey, Max?”

“What, Daddy?”

This is gonna take some time.

July 21, 2008 - Posted by | Childhood, Children, Christian Life, Family, Fatherhood, Fathers and Sons, Home Training, Humor, Kids, Motherhood, Parenthood, Parenting

5 Comments »

  1. My 17-month-old son learned “Huh?” and I don’t know where he learned it!

    Comment by Rick T | July 21, 2008 | Reply

  2. It’s African. He got it from the ancestors! 🙂

    Comment by maxdaddy | July 21, 2008 | Reply

  3. Jaxon also calls us “Bay” (short for Babe). He hears Rick and I say it to each other. Crazy. Now I have to call my husband by what I want Jaxon to call him! I always thought the parents that called each other Mother and Father were CRAZY…

    Comment by Heather | July 22, 2008 | Reply

  4. Nope, sorry. My 3 1/2 year old says “Huh?” all the time. I can’t break him of it.

    Comment by sara | July 22, 2008 | Reply

  5. Yeah, every now and then, Max calls me by my first name. That’s a no no. Even now, I am nervous about telling someone what my parents’ names are.

    But it is my understanding that the words, “uh huh,” and “un unh” are Two African words that were not able to be purged from their lexicon… Whatever the origin, it has become ubiquitous.

    Comment by maxdaddy | July 23, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

