That NEW Adage

A pressure-relief valve about God, and just about everything else.

Babee Tawk


“Jlknsphote giso dnb tjiom rhsdder!” Max said to me, dead serious.

“What?!?” I thought.

So, I repeated what he said, word for word: “Jlknsphote giso dnb tjiom rhsdder?”

He frowned and looked at me out the side of his eye as if to say, “Man, what’s da mattah witchou? Speak Englitch!”

Then he said, “No, Dah! Sefcka tehpmfn hse SOAVEX!”

“Oh. Okay. MY bad.”

It was so funny! What he said to me — he always has these extended conversations with us — made perfect sense to him on the inside of his head. Everything makes sense in there! Including putting cell phones and dead leaves in his mouth, using a sharpie on my desk and the washing machine, and pushing and pulling the keys on my horn while I’m playing it. Oh… and getting his big head stuck under the couch!

Whatever he said, it sure wasn’t what I said. What I said was just gibberish, I guess.

June 17, 2008 - Posted by | Babies, Baby Talk, Childhood, Children, Christian Life, Family, Fatherhood, Fathers and Sons, Humor, Kids, Life, Motherhood, Parenthood, Parenting

2 Comments »

  1. I love kid talk. My 3 year old talks well but when he gets going fast he blurs words together and it is the most hilarious thing I’ve ever seen. Sometimes to understand him we have to stop, sit, count to ten together, and then try again…and he again gets soo excited about what he is telling us that we start the calming process all over again. It’s frustrating, hilarious, and one of my most favorite things.

    The best part is finding God in your kids. I think when we don’t understand them, sometimes it is us not listening well enough. Funny how that works in our relationship with God as well.

    Comment by bob | June 18, 2008 | Reply

  2. Thanks, bob. Good insight. I know I struggle to understand what God is telling me…

    Comment by maxdaddy | June 19, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

