That NEW Adage

A pressure-relief valve about God, and just about everything else.

Makin’ Grosy


So, since I work at night, and Kathy is on max-swole* right now, I do a lot of the grocery shopping. Trying to be a good husband. I tend to make fun of the way we black folk tend to speak down here in the South, and as such, what follows is the phonetically-spelled-out list of items for purchase:

                                                    Grosy Liss

Mennit Rise

Gobbitch Bags

Pento Bens

Hole Chikums

Crem uh Chikum

Crem uh Mushrome

Unyun Soop Miks

Bred

Shuger

Murk (a Memphis thing, sadly)

Jeffey Conebred Miks

Sereul

(And then I had to go to the)

Butey Suplie Stoe (to buy an afro)

Pik

The problem came when, because of my own smart-aleckiness, I found myself repeatedly standing in the middle of an aisle (dodging old ladies) frowning, trying to figure out what the– heck “Sereul” was! I thought I was being funny, and instead wound up being the butt of my own joke! No social or underlying Christian message this time. Just something funny that happened to me today.

The black folk will know what these words say. White folk, ask your black friends…

*Extremely Pregnant!

February 25, 2008 - Posted by | Family, Humor, Language, Life, Marriage, Race, Words

4 Comments »

  1. This cracked me up, especially when you couldn’t figure out your own list. 😀

    Oh, and I knew what you meant for all the words except murk…is that for milk??

    Good job taking care of that extremely pregnant wife! Keep up the good work!

    Yep. Milk. That’s the way they say it down here. Thanks, Missy!
    Derrick.

    Comment by missy | February 25, 2008 | Reply

  2. You must have plenty of marenaid ’cause I didn’t see it on the list. Others may know it as mayonnaise.

    Comment by Rick T | February 25, 2008 | Reply

  3. I wish I had put that on the list!

    Comment by maxdaddy | February 26, 2008 | Reply

  4. THAT’s funny. I’m on Long Island and I’ve seen lists like that for my region (you would think it sounded like a Brooklyn accent if you know what a Brooklyn accent sounds like) but I’ve never seen one like this.

    Thanks, Sara!
    Yeah, it’s definitely a regional thing. Also, I was just being foolish as far as the spelling of some of the words and got tangled in my own web.
    Derrick

    Comment by sara | February 26, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

