That NEW Adage

A pressure-relief valve about God, and just about everything else.

A Mighty Rushing Wind Saved My Ceiling


This is about God, not the people involved.

There is a line from one of my favorite movies, “The Count of Monte Cristo”, that often pops into my head when I think of how the Lord always looks after me: “Once again, God sees you out the corner of His eye!”

We’ve had some crazy weather these last couple weeks. One day, it’ll be sunny and warm, and the next day will be sub-freezing. About a week and a half ago, the wind was blowing high, breaking branches, causing accidents, and blowing down a large portion of the six-foot wooden fence in my back yard.

I didn’t even know it until my neighbor, Keith, told Kathy when she was coming in from work three days ago. I haven’t been back there much since Max got here, and it is quite a bit more neglected than is the front yard.

I asked my friend and church member, Tim (who, by the way, is the reason I blog at all) to come and look at it when he got the chance. He is in the process of putting up a fence of his own at his house, and I figured he would know how to do more than just nail it back up, which is what I was going to do. He came today.

While I was looking at the fence, which Keith said he would take care of, Tim noticed water leaking from the soffit (haha! Soffit! I know this word because I was on track to becoming an architect before I got bit by the starving artist bug!), the overhanging part of the roof.

“Hey, Derrick, let’s take a look at this…” he said, pointing to all that water dripping from somewhere inside my attic on this sunny, cloudless day. This could NOT be good. I stiffened my upper lip and set my jaw for the financial disaster dripping like sulfuric acid from my roof, or attic.

“Is your water heater in your attic?” he asked.

“Yes,” I answered weakly, trying to hide the dread I was suddenly feeling. “What genius thought to do THAT?”

I mean, yeah, you save space, but there can’t be that much security in having forty gallons of boiling hot water two feet above your head!

Okay, Kathy and I own our little three-bedroom house. That is, the BANK owns it, and lets us live here as long as we pay the mortgage (Fixed-rate. Really low interest rate. That’s another whole story…). There is no way that any two other people who make as little as we do, and who are as deep in debt as we are, could live where and how we live! She is a tech-support/customer service rep for a cellphone company, and I play music “from time to time.” Yet we do it. We have two cars — one of which we bought new two years ago — and we have never missed a payment. This is what God does. Kathy has two loaves of bread, and I have  couple of fish, and God stretches it to an unbelievable degree! Plus we are almost the parents of two children! We have no business being as blessed as we are! It is amazing to watch how He, in Indiana Jonesian fashion, brings us through one near-miss after another. It is incredibly faith-building!

We had AHS appliance insurance, but I cancelled it after we paid a 500-some dollar yearly payment and our dishwasher began leaking and we called them and they came out (for a $50 DEDUCTIBLE!!!) and ran the washer through three rinse cycles and told me that the problem was soap suds from diswashing liquid and left!!! Heck, with my payment plus the deductible, I bought a dishwasher and a washing machine! All for the guy to tell me to use different soap! Insurance is a racket! But what can you do?

Anyway, Tim got out his drill, unscrewed the grate from the soffit, and found that the water was coming from a pipe in the attic, probably the runoff from the overflow pan. Me with no appliance insurance. My game of “Chicken” was about to come to a head! I was 911’ing the Lord as we took the death march into the house and up to the attic.

I tried to display some inner faith: “Whatever happens, the Lord will work it out. I won’t really worry…”

We get up to the attic, and sure enough, there is about an inch of water in the overflow pan. There is a stream of water running down the side of the water heater, and after some inspection, Tim sees that the cold water pipe on the top of the heater is squirting out a thin stream.

He turns off the line, removes the hose, and shows it to me. As we are loading into the car on the way to Home Depot, he says in that cool Texas drawl, “Man, the Lord shooore does look after YOU!” The hose looked to be moments from bursting and spewing water all over the attic!

“Yeah,” I said, “I couldn’t possibly be an atheist, as many times as He’s pulled me through!” The replacement pipe cost $4.89.

Had that windstorm not blown down my fence, and had my neighbor not just happened to see Kathy coming into the house, and had not Tim agreed to come and take a look at it, and had I not gone with him into the back yard (which I rarely do) and had he not been looking around and had he not noticed that leak, there is no telling what would have happened, and how much money it would have taken to fix it.

THAT is how God works through events and through people to work His magic. Yes, bad things often happen. People get hurt and they sometimes die. But because I have seen how He works, my faith (not my WORD of Faith!) is increased. Driving a new car inspires confidence, but nowhere near the confidence that God will see me through soundly to my destination. God always sees me out the corner of His eye.

February 3, 2008 - Posted by | Christian Life, Christianity, Church Life, Faith, God, Jesus, Life

4 Comments »

  1. What an awesome story!

    Your situation sounds a bit like ours. We shouldn’t be homeowners if you look at us on paper. I don’t work, Hubby works for himself with no set amount of income every month…yet we got a mortgage with an extremely low fixed rate in a good neighborhood. Of course, we have a furnace that is older than we are (seriously, its 38 years old!) and I think it is God alone that keeps it pumping out the heat year after year!

    Thanks for an awesome God story on this otherwise gloomy day!

    Comment by missy | February 3, 2008 | Reply

  2. Yours is the second cool God story I’ve heard in as many days. I love stuff like that-it puts God on display in a personal way.

    Comment by Tracie | February 4, 2008 | Reply

  3. Max,

    Isn’t the Lord good?

    Your story is a sound example of how God runs our lives through providence (not through prophets, ‘words’, or revelations). It is a demonstration of God’s sovereignty in our lives.

    We don’t have to be rich, or have it all figured out for the Lord to take care of us. Rich or poor, smart or dumb (yeah, I know!), famous or unknown, spectacular or not, the Lord takes care of His own.

    Isn’t it so comforting to know that He is in charge (and not we, as some would have it)? Serving an all-powerful, loving, sovereign God like Jehovah is, is the most blessed thing in all creation. I won’t trade Him for anything else.

    Praise the Lord!

    Comment by Yomi Adegboye | February 25, 2008 | Reply

  4. Yeah, Yomi, He’s great like that! He had my back when I didn’t even know I needed Him!
    Plus, I didn’t have to “Apply these Principles” like the Prosperity crowd preach. No magic formulas, no numerology. Just mere Christianity.

    Comment by maxdaddy | February 26, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

