That NEW Adage

A pressure-relief valve about God, and just about everything else.

Butts Are For More Than Just Shaking In Videos!


Spanking is NOT violence. Why should I even have to SAY that?! This is just a clever argument designed to cancel any potential disagreement. It is fallacious, though. Is ”violence” simply the act of one person physically inflicting pain on another? What about a car accident? Is that an act of violence? What about hernia surgery? Or a hernia EXAM for that matter! (Nawww, THAT’S some violence!)

A spanking is no more an act of violence than these occurrences.

And frankly, I don’t appreciate a shackin’, no-children-havin’, feminist, Universalist, New Age, talk show host tellin’ me how to raise my children in my Christian household!

Raise YOUR kids as you see fit. I will do the same. If YOU want kids who defy you, yell at you, disobey you, that’s fine. Mine won’t do those things. Not twice. I will not accept the label of ”abuser” because I choose to use a perfectly Godly method of discipline when necessary. Doing too little is as bad as doing too much. I suggest that one who is excessively liberal in dealing with his children is just as much an abuser as the parent who truly DOES beat his offspring. One who lets his kids run around doing what they please and talk back will unleash a complete terror on society. Those kids make teachers’ lives miserable, as well as shoppers, and co-workers later in life. They grow up to be awful friends, selfish paramours, and EX-husbands and wives. Check the divorce stats, if you think I’m lying! I propose that there are as many divorces, if not more, that had NO physical abuse but occurred because one or both parties had no willingness to tough out a rough situation selfishly choosing to ruin lives rather than live up to a commitment.See: Irreconcilable differences.

There are things that damage society just as much as child abuse– WHICH SPANKING IS NOT! Ask ENRON investors. Ask anyone who has suffered at the cloven hooves of a crooked politician.

Don’t try to trivialize a good point by saying that I think that the ills of the world will be solved with a belt. I am not ridiculous, so don’t you be. What I AM saying is that if you prune a shrub early, you stand a better chance of controlling and shaping its development.

Spanking is no more necessary in every situation as is the emergency brake in a car or a fire extinguisher– it is there for use in extreme cases. And different kids need different levels of discipline. My mother got only one spanking from her father, but some of her siblings got probably dozens. Oh, yeah, I just thought about it; the only sibling of hers to go bad was the one my grandmother wouldn’t let anybody touch! But THAT was just a coincidence, hunh experts?

When there was more discipline, there was less crime. There were fewer unwed mothers and fatherless children. Old people were respected, and children didn’t curse in front of grown-ups like they do now. The more lenient and ”progressive” we have become, the more incivil our world is. Whooh!! We really have evolved!

Gangs are RUN by kids. Kids with NO parental guidance. We are the first generation who are actually AFRAID of our children! Ask their innocent victims which is worse– a whipping or a bullet in the head.

”Nip it, nip it, nip it,” Barney Fife used to say. And I agree. My great-grandmother used to tell my father, ”Um gone git MY hands on you before the po-leece do, cuz they don’t care nudd’n ’bout cha! They’ll knock ya in na head an’ KILL ya!”  That is the truth. This world loves no one. It is hard and harsh, and will do whatever it can to take what you have. Including your life. A parent’s measured, Godly discipline is not harmful and will help a child avoid — or cope with– life’s potholes.

Christians have an ETERNAL perspective that allows us to see the tremendous difference between a whupping and death. We know that there are worse things in life than a child crying. We serve a God who tells us that whipping a child will not kill him. It is a temporary pain. God disciplines us in sometimes painful ways. We ALL will lose our lives. I am not angry with the Lord because I will die, or because my folks won’t live forever, and even if I did get angry, He is God enough to not let that make Him soft. He will hurt our feelings when and if necessary.

We, however, ARE soft. Rather than have our kids angry with us, we try to become their pals. A bunch of spineless yes-men! We try to reeezon with them. How can we reason with a person who doesn’t possess the judgment to drive a car or marry or drink alcohol or buy a gun or rent an apartment or share a toy or eat vegetables or stay out of mud puddles or come in when the street lights come on or not eat the Christmas lights!!! “STOP, MAX!!!”

I don’t necessarily have the time to explain the properties of alternating current and conductive metals to a doggone baby. I don’t necessarily have the time to explain how boiling water makes baby’s skin slide off. A sharp smack on the hand saves time, words, and LIFE!!!

We opened the gate wide and let them run around in traffic. So that WE could feel better about our compassionate selves. I say that a child getting hit by a metaphoric car out in that street is a DIRECT act of violence!

I’ll stop spanking my kids when Oprah starts spanking hers!

November 27, 2007 - Posted by | Childhood, Christianity, Discipline, Family, Fatherhood, Liberals, Oprah, Oprah Winfrey, Parenthood, Parenting, Spanking

18 Comments »

  1. Great post!!!!!!!1 Keep it up. A butt whuppin didn’t hurt any of us and all 4 of us stayed out of trouble. I remember our mother telling us if we got in trouble we’d stay in jail, she would support us as long as we were in the right.

    Like I tell my boys I got your back if you are right, but if you’re wrong, you’re on your own –tough love.

    Comment by Cassandra | November 27, 2007 | Reply

  2. Good post! it is nothing wrong with a spanking. Some things call for a spanking others call for taking things away but you be the judge. Keep up the good work.

    Comment by Ann Brock | November 27, 2007 | Reply

  3. Thanks, Cassandra!

    Thanks, Annie, for always stopping by! I appreciate the constant support.

    Comment by maxdaddy | November 27, 2007 | Reply

  4. The way I was raised, there were certain things that resulted in spanking, and we knew it — lying, stealing, etc.. There were times when I had tough things to learn, and a short-lived stinging bottom helped. I like to think that I’ve turned out pretty well.

    I get now that lying is bad for very real, very important reasons. When I was younger, I knew that lying was bad because if I did it, my father’s leather belt was going to be featured in the conversation about how wrong I was.

    Comment by wickle | November 27, 2007 | Reply

  5. Hey, good post. I wrote a similar opinion much less eloquently.

    I just want to clarify that the law being considered would ban spanking unless it was to save a child from danger – so the smack to keep the kid from touching the boiling water would be ok in their opinion I guess.

    Comment by sara | November 28, 2007 | Reply

  6. Derrick

    I spent about 20 minutes going through your website. You are a pretty amazing dude! The Dr Gettmo Dollars blog was right on target!

    Comment by Steve | November 29, 2007 | Reply

  7. Thanks, guys. I really appreciate the comments! I think that if we all don’t make a big enough noise, these people will turn the world into a giant therapy session!

    Comment by maxdaddy | November 29, 2007 | Reply

  8. Preach, Max!! Preach!!

    Comment by Yomi Adegboye | November 29, 2007 | Reply

  9. Yep, I got spanked — not too often, though. A look was usually enough for me to step right on in line. So many children are out of control — which is why a lot of people don’t want to be around them.

    Then the “non-spankers” wanna whine about a societal “hatred of children”. No. Most people I know don’t “hate” children. But most do hate having to be around misbehaving, rude, obnoxious, disruptive, disrespectful youngins. I’m one of those people, and there’s too many of those type of children. Ever tried to enjoy a meal at a restaurant, with the kids at the table in front/back of you nuttin’ up in overdrive?

    I see so many parents bribin'(“Wanna go to McDonalds?”) and pleadin’ with their little ones, trying to get them to behave. Seems like a 32-year old should be able to manage a 2-year old. Maybe it’s just me. I don’t have kids, so perhaps I’m missing something.

    Funny thing is when I was a kid, nobody ever offered me a trip to Chucky Cheese, if I stopped misbehaving (I’m older than the Chucky Cheese era, but stay with me…). It was understood that misbehavior would simply not be tolerated, nor rewarded. My parents meant business. No empty promises. If you didn’t fall in line, a spanking was in store.

    Comment by A Nappy Girl | November 29, 2007 | Reply

  10. “The doors of the church are open!”

    Comment by maxdaddy | November 29, 2007 | Reply

  11. Gospel truth!

    No one likes to be spanked, but at the end we are usually grateful. My mom believes no child is too big for spanking and she is very generous with.

    “Spare the rod and spoil the child”.

    Comment by Naomi | November 29, 2007 | Reply

  12. Amen! Spanking is not about enjoyment. It is a hard part of the job of parenthood.

    As I think about it, I think that it is SUCH a hard part that that is why those who DON’T do it when needed are too weak to see their children cry. They “punk out,” so to speak. They would rather cajole and placate the kids, thereby putting the child in the position of strength.

    Where would we be if GOD were too soft to have Jesus be tortured and executed for US? And HE didn’t even DO nothing!

    “Foolishness is BOUND in the heart of a child, and the ROD OF CORRECTION will drive it FAR from him.”

    “If you whip a child, he will not die.”

    Comment by maxdaddy | November 29, 2007 | Reply

  13. You can say that again. At least, we are a living testimony. Hallelujah!

    Comment by Naomi | November 29, 2007 | Reply

  14. You can’t spank children you’ll make them violent! I don’t believe that at all but I couldn’t believe you didn’t get one nay-sayer out of all these responses. I got well-earned, much-deserved spankings and i love Mom and Dad for each one of them…and Grandmama, and aunt Starr, uncle Mac, my fourth grade teacher, that lady next door that dipped snuff, and…

    Comment by Rick T | November 29, 2007 | Reply

  15. That’s funny, Rick! Thanks again.

    Comment by maxdaddy | November 30, 2007 | Reply

  16. I got spanked a lot while growing up (actually more like caned, beaten etc.)& I believe I am the better for it. Now my siblings & I can laugh over all the spankings we received in the past but we definitely learned our lessons!

    Comment by bayuze | November 30, 2007 | Reply

  17. How is it not violence?

    The child is struck with hand or paddle.
    This causes physical pain.
    The child cries.

    http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/violence
    1. exertion of physical force so as to injure

    Comment by William | March 14, 2008 | Reply

  18. Matthew 19:14
    Jesus said, “Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of heaven belongs to such as these.”

    Who would Jesus spank?

    Jesus loved/loves children. He never made any child cry, no matter what the circumstances.

    Comment by William | March 14, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

