That NEW Adage

A pressure-relief valve about God, and just about everything else.

Race Your Awearness


Step inside my life,

Make yourself at home.

Sit down in my favorite pastime.

See if you like the way my culture fits.

Try on a pair of my circumstances.

Walk a mile in my issues.

Take a nap in my nightmares.

Turn the channel to my point of view.

Look in the pantry and taste my reasonings.

Try to wash off the smell of my common sense.

Walk up the frightened stares.

You can have what you find in my perseverance.

Can you spend my occurrences? 

No me like I no you.

                                  

Derrick L. Williams                                                                                                     

November 20, 2007 - Posted by | Poetry, Race, Racism

2 Comments »

  1. Peace be with you brother. Happy Thanksgiving. (BTW, love the new picture. He can come over an play in the snow anytime.)

    Comment by Pastor Warren | November 22, 2007 | Reply

  2. This is a great piece! Thanks for opening up another one of your artistic doors.

    Comment by Rick T | November 23, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

