That NEW Adage

A pressure-relief valve about God, and just about everything else.

A Link In the Change…


My best friend and I were talking about the “Dog, the Bounty Hunter” dude, and I said something to him that he insisted I put down here.

A lot of people who don’t come from those enslaved in this country like to tell us, when something like what Dog Chapman was just caught saying comes to light, “Just get over it!” This incenses me! But I am learning that peoples’ minds sometimes cannot be changed by the facts. Hearing that oft-repeated phrase just lets me truly see who I am dealing with. We should, they say, just get over the anger we feel at hearing that Notorious term hurled about in reference to us. Just get over slavery. Just get over second class citizenship, brutality, educational inequality, and discrimination of any sort. “Just Get Over It!”

That term is, to me, the new version of, “Some of my best friends are colored.”  I SEE you.

 “Actions ALWAYS have consequences.” This is what I told my friend. Like the Bible says: the father eats bitter grapes and the children get that stinging pain in the glands behind the jaw. I think that’s a direct quote…

By way of analogy, I told him,

 “Let’s see, there are, what, a hundred and forty-two years since slavery ended? How ’bout this: how ’bout I get one of those folks who say we should just get over slavery since none of us were slaves, how ’bout I get one of them to hold the end of a chain with a hundred and forty-two links in it, and I get a live wire and shoot about 50,000 volts through the other end of it! I bet they’ll feel the effects of it! I BET they won’t just get over that!

Every action that has occurred between the races in this country has had a consequence, positive or negative. My grandfather had to call a ten year old boy “Sir,” and as a result, I will not make my children say “Sir” or “Ma’am,” because I didn’t have to say it because my mother saw it happen and vowed that her kids wouldn’t go through that when bused to schools run by White teachers who didn’t want them there.

While we’re talking, why doesn’t God “just get over it”, too? I mean, by that same logic, why should I, or you, Mr. Insensitive Conservative, have to pay for what some guy named Adam did countless thousand of years ago? Right? Yet, WE all have to bear the penalty for his sin, right?

Discrimination is the thriving spoiled brat child of Slavery and Racism in this country. Wishing it away will not make it GO away. Dog, the Bounty Hunter just pulled back the curtain and let the light in. That uneasy feeling you have right now? Just get over it!

November 6, 2007 - Posted by | Christianity, Culture, Dog Chapman, News, Race, Racism

7 Comments »

  1. For the record, I think that we white folk need to accept that our ancestors have done some terrible things, and that our nation has been involved in them. And you’re right, these things leave scars. The sins of our fathers will be visited on later generations … we know this if we read our Bibles.

    The “get over it” crowd are conservatives are really saying “it’s not my problem,” or more correctly, “leave me alone.”

    My family comes from North Carolina. While I have never and would never hurt or kill a man, woman, or child for the color of his or her skin, I know that if I look back far enough, someone in my family probably did. I have avoided genealogy specifically because I don’t want to know how many Rebel soldiers are my great-great-grandsinners … err, … grandfathers.

    I don’t know exactly what the solution is, to putting all of this behind us. But I do know that it has to be confronted, and directly. Sure, you were never a slave and I never beat one. But our families were on very different courses back then, and the paths have never really been leveled.

    Great post, and it’s really good to think about it. Thanks.

    (Having said that, I don’t know what Dog said … but I really don’t care what he has to say. I’ll assume it was Imus-like.)

    Comment by wickle | November 6, 2007 | Reply

  2. Thanks, Wickle. I appreciate your honesty. Yeah, I am not saying this as a way to get folk to walk around with a guilt complex. I know that some Black folk probably do want that.

    It is just dishonest to suggest that what happened in the past does not affect the present, especially when we see the starkly different paths that White, Black, and even Native Americans have taken. There HAS to be a reason.

    Part of my reason for even WRITING a blog is because of the apathy of those who call themselves “evangelicals”. I just want us all to live as God intended- with closets that have no doors.

    I’m gonna have to write something about my current church… We are diverse, and we don’t shy away from issues of race. I LOVE it! Thanks again.

    Comment by maxdaddy | November 6, 2007 | Reply

  3. Great post!

    Comment by Ann Brock | November 6, 2007 | Reply

  4. Great post!

    You’ve made my blogroll brother! Keep up the great work!

    Comment by Phil Naessens | November 7, 2007 | Reply

  5. Thanks!!

    Comment by maxdaddy | November 7, 2007 | Reply

  6. It’s foolish to believe that the consequences of atrocities in our history are subject to a statute of limitations while the positive things enjoy lasting benefit. By their logic will the US eventually ‘get over’ it’s independence from Mother England? Just asking.

    Comment by Rick T | November 10, 2007 | Reply

  7. Rick! That is an EXCELLENT point! Both positive AND negative actions have consequences!

    Comment by maxdaddy | November 10, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

